Friday, January 16, 2009


Kashmir is a Danish rock band formed in 1991 at Kastanievej Efterskole, Copenhagen. Originally called Nirvana, the band quickly changed its name to Kashmir due to the Seattle based grungeband of the same name, breaking through at the time. The name derived from the Led Zeppelin song Kashmir, since this was the only song all band members could agree upon, since their various musical tastes were diverse.
The band consists of the members: Kasper Eistrup (vocals & guitar), Mads Tunebjerg (bass), Asger Techau (drums) and since 1999, Henrik Lindstrand (keyboards & guitar).
Their earlier albums were musically in the vein of Primus and Red Hot Chili Peppers, but with their third full length album their style changed dramatically to be influenced by Jeff Buckley and Radiohead, a style often characterised by newcomers as in the same veins as Coldplay, however Kashmir has in Kasper Eistrup, an original text writer and singer, who can hardly be summarized as anything close to Chris Martin.

No Balance Palace [2005]

No Balance Palace (2005) includes collaborations with David Bowie and Lou Reed, and with the release of NBP, the band has yet again changed direction musically to be inspired by artists such as Sonic Youth and other noise rockers.

No comments:

Post a Comment